Put this in the dictionary right fucking now

I thought my working definitions of a hipster (1. one who embraces countercultural entertainment and attire in a deliberate effort to call attention to oneself, 2. a self-aggrandizing fauxhemian) were good ones, but Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s might be even better:

hip-ster /ˈhipstər/

noun: “A hipster to me is someone who kind of dresses up like an artist, but they don’t actually make anything. So all of y’all people who call me a hipster can go fuck yourselves because I make shit all the goddamn time.”

It strikes me as an excellent general rule of thumb, though not an absolute one – the noxious James Franco, for example, is both artist and hipster.

This has been another missive from the Department of Largely Useless Information.

