Credit where it’s due

In an otherwise meh finale, filled with anticlimaxes and unsatisfying conclusions, Sunday’s Lost had some truly affecting character moments that made me remember why I originally came to love this show six years ago. And that while I haven’t felt that way about the show itself in quite a while, after all this time I still do love these characters.

Specifically, Matthew Fox (Jack), Michael Emerson (Ben) and Terry O’Quinn (John Locke, one of the great characters in the history of the medium) deserve to be singled out, as does Jorge Garcia (Hurley), who damn near made me cry as he begged Jack not to do what amounted to killing himself.

As for the other stuff… *shrug*. It was what I expected in just about every respect. I didn’t think they’d go with what’s been the oldest theory around (a sort of purgatory), but given Lost’s history of ordinary answers for extraordinary questions (when it bothers to provide answers at all), I probably should have.

