How the hell did I miss this?

What a dope I am. This has been on for the better part of three years and I’m only now discovering it?

No show currently airing is better acted than Friday Night Lights. No show is more genuine, more heartfelt, more inspiring or more transportive than this one from NBC about a high school football team from Texas.

I hate Texas. I hate nonprofessional football. I hate small town simpletons. And yet somehow there’s no other show I’d rather spend my time watching than this one.

There is no one less well-suited for being a fan of FNL than me and yet I unabashedly love, love, love this show. It’s funny and smart and honest and relevant and everything great television should be but almost never is. I defy anyone to watch it and say otherwise.

